In news

The judges for Scope’s second Disability Equality Awards are revealed today, including TV stars, campaigners, social media influencers and journalists.

The panel includes comedian Lee Ridley (Lost Voice Guy), presenter and actress Samantha Renke, disability activist Dr Shani Dhanda, journalist Jordan Jarrett-Bryan and founder of Models of Diversity, Angel Sinclair.

Dr Shani Dhanda, who will be the head judge, said: “As a dedicated Scope ambassador, I'm honoured to lead our esteemed panel of judges for the Scope Disability Equality Awards 2024.

“Our mission for disability equality has never been more vital, especially given recent challenges for disabled people to live with the dignity and respect we deserve.

“These awards spotlight those individuals and organisations making a real impact. I invite you to nominate those who inspire you and join us in recognising and empowering the next generation of advocates.

“Together, we can build a world where disability equality is not just a goal but a reality – where every person is valued.”

The Scope Disability Equality Awards celebrate the achievements of individuals, groups and organisations who are campaigning for disability equality, challenging attitudes, and bringing about social change. The Awards ceremony will take place at the Kia Oval on Thursday 25 April 2024.

The Awards are still open for entries with nine categories including Inclusive Workplace, Role Model, Campaign, Influencer, Media Moment, Journalist, Purple Pioneer, Community Group, and Accessible Product. Nominations close on October 6, 2023, so the public still has time to put forward their entries by visiting:

The shortlist of nominees will be announced in the new year, before the judges take on the challenge of deciding the overall winners.

James Taylor, Scope’s Executive Director of Strategy, Impact and Social Change said: “We are very excited to share the details of the wonderful judges for our second Scope Disability Equality Awards.

“There are 16 million disabled people in the UK, but they are not treated equally in society. The Awards will shine a spotlight on the outstanding work being carried out by so many disabled people, allies and organisations.

“Our panel of judges includes some of the best representatives of those championing disability equality and helping bring about change across the UK, so they are very well placed to help us find our winners.”

The judges for the Scope Disability Equality Awards are:

Adam Pearson

Angel Sinclair

Anoushé Husain

Bethany Black

Charli Clement

Dan Edge

Ekow Otoo

Isaac Harvey

Jordan Hogg

Jordan Jarrett-Bryan

Lee Ridley

Lucy Webster

Mike Adams OBE

Safaa Charif

Samantha Renke

Dr Shani Dhanda

Sophie Butler

Sukhjeen Kaur

Tom Jamison

Richie Brave